Special Sessions Listing

Commission A

  1. Channel Sounder Measurements and Verification

    Jeanne Quimby (Jeanne.quimby@nist.gov, 303-497-4217)

    Chris Anderson (canderson@ntia.doc.gov, 303 497-3414)

  2. Passive and Active Device Measurements (AD)
    Jeanne Quimby (
    Zoya Popovic (zoya@colorado.edu

  3. Validity and Accuracy in EM Modeling of Systems and Environments (CABDE)

    Charles Baylis (Charles_Baylis@baylor.edu, 254-710-4306)

    Jean-Francois Chamberland-Tremblay (chmbrlnd@tamu.edu)    

Commission B

  1. 5G and Massive MIMO Antennas and Systems

    Shubhendu Bhardwaj, Florida Int. Univ., (sbhardwa@fiu.edu)

    Ghanshyam Mishra, San Diego State University (gmishra-sw@sdsu.edu)

  2. Astronomical Phased Arrays: From Theory to Practice (BJ)

    Karl Warnick, BYU (warnick@ee.byu.edu)

    Juming Diao, UCLA (diaojunming@gmail.com)

  3. Metamaterials and Metasurfaces: Theory & Applications

    Filippo Capolino, UC Irvine (f.capolino@uci.edu

    Ashwin Iyer, Univ. of Alberta (iyer@ece.ualberta.ca)

  4. Wearable, Implants, and Body Area Networks  (BK)

    Bashir Morshed, The University of Memphis (bmorshed@memphis.edu)

    Ryan Green, Virginia Commonwealth University (greenrb@vcu.edu)

  5. Antennas for Specialized Platforms: SmallSats, UAVs, and UUVs

    Reyhan Baktur, Utah State University (reyhan.baktur@usu.edu)

    David Jackson, University of Houston (djackson@uh.edu)

  6. Techniques for Modeling of Waves in Plasmas (BGH)

    Robert Marshall, University of Colorado (robert.marshall@colorado.edu)

    Robert Lysak (lysak001@umn.edu)

    Mark Golkowski, University of Colorado, Denver (mark.golkowski@ucdenver.edu)

    Nikolay Zabotin, Univ of Colorado (nikolay.zabotin@colorado.edu)

    Vijay Harid, University of Colorado, Denver (vijay.harid@ucdenver.edu)

  7. Low-Profile Antennas from Gigahertz to Terahertz

    Goutam Chattopadhyyay, JPL-NASA (goutam.chattopadhyay@jpl.nasa.gov)

    Satish K. Sharma, San Diego State Univ. (ssharma@sdsu.edu)

  8. High-Power EM Effects and Solutions (EBFGK)

    Lawrence Cohen, lawrence.cohen@nrl.navy.mil, 202-404-7726

    Eric Mokole, eric.mokole@outlook.com, 703-983-3349

  9. Validity and Accuracy in EM Modeling of Systems and Environments (CABDE)

    Charles Baylis (Charles_Baylis@baylor.edu) 254-710-4306

    Jean-Francois Chamberland-Tremblay (chmbrlnd@tamu.edu)    

Commission C

  1. Software-Defined Wireless Systems and Waveform Diversity

    Gregory Huff, ghuff@tamu.edu, 217-552-3668;

    Eric Mokole, eric.mokole@outlook.com; 703-983-3349) 

  2. Validity and Accuracy in EM Modeling of Systems and Environments (CABDE)

    Charles Baylis (Charles_Baylis@baylor.edu) 254-710-4306

    Jean-Francois Chamberland-Tremblay (chmbrlnd@tamu.edu)    

  3. Spectrum Issues and Solutions for Next-Generation Wireless Systems (CDEJ)

    Lawrence Cohen (lawrence.cohen@nrl.navy.mil) 202-404-7726

Eric Mokole (eric.mokle@outlook.com) 703-983-3349

  1. Radio Communications with Small Satellites (FC)
    Steve Reising (Steven.Reising@colostate.edu)
    Al Gasiewski (al.gasiewski@colorado.edu)

Commission D

  1. Low Power Microwave/ Millimeter-Wave Transceivers and Beam Steering
    Jonathan Chisum (jchisum@nd.edu)
    Charles Dietlein (charles.r.dietlein.civ@mail.mil

  2. Submillimeter-Wave/ Terahertz Circuits and Applications
    Negar Ehsan (
    Berhanu Bulcha (

  3. Passive and Active Device Measurements (AD)
    Jeanne Quimby (
    Zoya Popovic (zoya@colorado.edu

  4. Spectrum Issues and Solutions for Next-Generation Wireless Systems (CDEJ)

            Lawrence Cohen (lawrence.cohen@nrl.navy.mil, 202-404-7726

        Eric Mokole, eric.mokle@outlook.com, 703-983-3349

  1. Validity and Accuracy in EM Modeling of Systems and Environments (CABDE)

    Charles Baylis (Charles_Baylis@baylor.edu) 254-710-4306

    Jean-Francois Chamberland-Tremblay (chmbrlnd@tamu.edu)    

Commission E

  1. High-Power EM Effects and Solutions (EBFGK)

    Lawrence Cohen, lawrence.cohen@nrl.navy.mil, 202-404-7726

    Eric Mokole, eric.mokole@outlook.com, 703-983-3349   

  2. Spectrum Issues and Solutions for Next-Generation Wireless Systems (CDEJ)

    Lawrence Cohen (lawrence.cohen@nrl.navy.mil, 202-404-7726

Eric Mokole, eric.mokle@outlook.com, 703-983-3349

  1. Validity and Accuracy in EM Modeling of Systems and Environments (CABDE)

            Charles Baylis, Charles_Baylis@baylor.edu, 254-710-4306

            Jean-Francois Chamberland-Tremblay (chmbrlnd@tamu.edu)

  2. Lightning and the Ionosphere (HEG)

    Robert Marshall, University of Colorado, Boulder (robert.marshall@colorado.edu)

    Victor Pasko, Penn State University (vpasko@psu.edu)

Commission F

  1. Random and Complex Media Models
    Saba Mudaliar (saba.mudaliar@us.af.mil)
    Gary Brown (randem@vt.edu)

  2. Remote Sensing from Small Satellites
    Steve Reising (Steven.Reising@colostate.edu)
    Al Gasiewski (al.gasiewski@colorado.edu)

  3. Radio Communications with Small Satellites (FC)
    Steve Reising (Steven.Reising@colostate.edu)
    Al Gasiewski (al.gasiewski@colorado.edu)

  4. RFI Mitigation for Remote Sensing
    Dave Kunkee (david.b.kunkee@aero.org)
    Sidharth Misra (Sidharth.Misra@jpl.nasa.gov)

  5. RF Propagation Utilizing Numerical Weather Prediction
    Tracy Haack (Tracy.Haack@nrlmry.navy.mil)
    Kate Horgan (katherine.horgan@navy.mil)

  6. GNSS and Radio Beacon Remote Sensing (FGH)

    Carl Siefring, NRL (carl.siefring@nrl.navy.mil)

    John Swoboda of G, MIT Haystack Observatory (swoboj@mit.edu)

  7. High-Power EM Effects and Solutions (EBFGK)

            Lawrence Cohen, lawrence.cohen@nrl.navy.mil, 202-404-7726

            Eric Mokole, eric.mokole@outlook.com, 703-983-3349   

Commission G

  1. New Horizons in Active and Passive Radio Techniques for Geospace Remote Sensing

    Philip Erickson, MIT Haystack Observatory (pje@haystack.mit.edu)

    Scott Palo, University of Colorado (palo@colorado.edu)

    Julio Urbina, Penn State University (jvu1@psu.edu)

  2. New Application of SmallSat Sensors in Space Session

    Paul Bernhardt, NRL (paul.bernhardt@nrl.navy.mil)

    Rebecca Bishop, Aerospace Corp (rebecca.l.bishop@aero.org)

  3. Crowd Sourcing for Terrestrial and Planetary Applications

    Fabiano Rodrigues, UT Dallas (fabiano@utdallas.edu)

    Roy Calfas, (calfas@arlut.utexas.edu)

  4. Space-Based Ionospheric Measurements

    Y. Jade Morton, University of Colorado Boulder (jade.morton@colorado.edu)

    Tom Gaussiran, ARL:UT (gauss@arlut.utexas.edu)

  5. Space Plasma Measurement Techniques

    Tom Gaussiran, ARL:UT  (gauss@arlut.utexas.edu)

    Terry Bullett, University of Colorado Boulder (terry.bullett@noaa.gov)

  6. Meteors, Orbital Debris and Dusty Plasmas (GH)

    Julio Urbina of Comm, Penn State University (jvu1@psu.edu)

    Sigrid Close, Stanford University (sigridc@stanford.edu)

    Alex Fletcher (alex.fletcher@nrl.navy.mil)

  7. Ionospheric Modification (GH)

    Eliana Nossa, SRI (enossa@naic.edu)

    Bob McCoy, University of Alaska (rpmccoy@alaska.edu)

    Stan Briczinkski (stan.briczinski@nrl.navy.mil)

  8. GNSS and Radio Beacon Remote Sensing (FGH)

    Carl Siefring, NRL (carl.siefring@nrl.navy.mil)

    John Swoboda of G, MIT Haystack Observatory (swoboj@mit.edu)

  9. Techniques for Modeling of Waves in Plasmas (BGH)

    Robert Marshall, University of Colorado (robert.marshall@colorado.edu)

    Robert Lysak (lysak001@umn.edu)

    Mark Golkowski, University of Colorado, Denver (mark.golkowski@ucdenver.edu)

    Nikolay Zabotin, Univ of Colorado (nikolay.zabotin@colorado.edu)

    Vijay Harid, University of Colorado, Denver (vijay.harid@ucdenver.edu )

  10. Lightning and the Ionosphere (HEG)

    Robert Marshall, University of Colorado, Boulder (robert.marshall@colorado.edu)

    Victor Pasko, Penn State University, (vpasko@psu.edu)

  11. High-Power EM Effects and Solutions (EBFGK)

    Lawrence Cohen, lawrence.cohen@nrl.navy.mil, 202-404-7726

    Eric Mokole, eric.mokole@outlook.com, 703-983-3349   

Commission H

  1. Physics of the Radiation Belts

    Poorya Hosseini (POORYA.HOSSEINI@ucdenver.edu)

    Chris Crabtree (chris.crabtree@nrl.navy.mil)

  2. Radio and Plasma Waves in the Solar System

    Stuart Bale (bale@ssl.berkeley.edu)

    David Malaspina (david.malaspina@colorado.edu)          

  3. Waves and Turbulence in Laboratory and Space Plasmas

    Carl Siefring (carl.siefring@nrl.navy.mil)

    Jim Schroeder (james-schroeder@uiowa.edu)   

  4. Lightning and the Ionosphere (HEG)

           Robert Marshall, University of Colorado, Boulder (robert.marshall@colorado.edu)

    Victor Pasko (vpasko@psu.edu)

  5. Techniques for Modeling of Waves in Plasmas (BGH)

    Robert Marshall, University of Colorado (robert.marshall@colorado.edu)

    Robert Lysak (lysak001@umn.edu)

    Mark Golkowski, University of Colorado, Denver (mark.golkowski@ucdenver.edu)

    Nikolay Zabotin, Univ of Colorado (nikolay.zabotin@colorado.edu)

    Vijay Harid, University of Colorado, Denver (vijay.harid@ucdenver.edu)

  6. GNSS and Radio Beacon Remote Sensing (FGH)

    Carl Siefring, NRL (carl.siefring@nrl.navy.mil)

    John Swoboda of G, MIT Haystack Observatory (swoboj@mit.edu)

  7. Meteors, Orbital Debris, and Dusty Plasmas (GH)

    Julio Urbina of Comm G, Penn State University (jvu1@psu.edu)

    Sigrid Close, Stanford University (sigridc@stanford.edu)

    Alex Fletcher (alex.fletcher@nrl.navy.mil)

  8. Ionospheric Modification (GH)

          Eliana Nossa, SRI (enossa@naic.edu)

          Bob McCoy, University of Alaska (rpmccoy@alaska.edu)

          Stan Briczinkski (stan.briczinski@nrl.navy.mil)

Commission J

  1. Cosmology and Astrophysics at Low Frequencies [double session]
    Greg Taylor (gbtaylor@unm.edu)
    Nithyanandan Thyagarajan (nthyagar@nrao.edu)
    Judd Bowman (Judd.Bowman@asu.edu)

  2. Radio Emission from Extrasolar Planets
    Joe Lazio (Joseph.Lazio@jpl.nasa.gov)
    Alex Wolszczan (aleks1853@gmail.com)

  3. Next Generation Very Large Array Design and Development
    Steve Durand (sdurand@nrao.edu)
    Rob Selina (rselina@nrao.edu)

  4. New Telescopes, Techniques, and Technology
    Jeff Mangum (jmangum@nrao.edu)
    Alyson Ford (alysonford@email.arizona.edu)

  5. Observatory Reports
    Jeff Mangum (jmangum@nrao.edu)
    Alyson Ford (alysonford@email.arizona.edu)  

  6. Spectrum Issues and Solutions for Next-Generation Wireless Systems (CDEJ)

    Lawrence Cohen (lawrence.cohen@nrl.navy.mil, 202-404-7726

Eric Mokole, eric.mokle@outlook.com, 703-983-3349

  1. Astronomical Phased Arrays: From Theory to Practice (BJ)

    Karl Warnick, BYU (warnick@ee.byu.edu)

    Juming Diao, UCLA (diaojunming@gmail.com)

Commission K

  1. RF, Microwave and THz Diagnostics/ Therapeutics

            Nader Behdad, University of Wisconsin (behdad@wisc.edu)

            John Stang, USC (jstang@usc.edu)

  2. Biomedical sensors and devices

            Asimina Kiourti, The Ohio State University (kiourti.1@osu.edu)

            Majid manteghi, Virginia Tech (manteghi@vt.edu)

  3. Wearable, Implants, and Body Area Networks  (BK)

    Bashir Morshed, The University of Memphis (bmorshed@memphis.edu)

    Ryan Green, Virginia Commonwealth University (greenrb@vcu.edu)

  4. High-Power EM Effects and Solutions (EBFGK)

    Lawrence Cohen, lawrence.cohen@nrl.navy.mil, 202-404-7726

    Eric Mokole, eric.mokole@outlook.com, 703-983-3349